#5 Witness, Witness, Witness!!!

Witness1

Dear Doctimus Prime,

Blogatron reporting for duty sir! (chuckles). I am sorry Prime. I know you don’t like me sounding all formal and stuff. It is another weekend and the week has been veeeeerrrry interesting. I have done a few more writings, I have made a few more friends and discussed with a few more people. In all I am a lot wiser and a lot more informed about some things. I am sure I will come around to write about some of them. First of all, I had to reply a comment on one a social media platform where someone was belly-aching about Catholic Priests who are guilty of favouritism of the rich over the poor. He is very correct in that regard, but I had to tell him a little more truth than he is willing to admit. I said:
“I would have to presume that you have chosen to take a stand of righteousness by seeing others (in this case PRIESTS) as the guilty ones. One question that bothers me more than yours is ‘why do we sin, all of us, in the first place?’ The answer is in Rom 3:23. We are all sinners, priests or lay persons alike, we all are sinners. I don’t know the motivation for anybody’s sins. What I know is that sin is evil and it is the devil’s plan to keep us bound and enslaved even in the things we claim to do for God. And there is nobody better to denounce sin that each and everyone in his/her own life. Often we forget too easily that we sin and are in need of God’s mercy, that we point accusing fingers to others. If you have experienced the mercy of God, you will definitely be more sympathetic to the plight of others. You will be forced like St Augustine to cry upon seeing a sinner: ‘There goes Augustine if not for the grace of God.’ If you feel badly about anybody’s moral state, do what 1Jn 5:15-17 prescribes. The fact is that the higher role in the Church is all the more perilous. Priests don’t have it easy, that is the more reason you should pray for them. They have more to contend with. If you feel strongly about the behaviour of any of them, meet the person personally and speak to him with courtesy and respect. I am sure they will appreciate it.”

prayer2

But that is not the reason I wanted to speak to you Prime. Yesterday’s Gospel reading from Lk 12:8-12 and today’s second reading from 2Tim 3:14-4:2 had a deep impact on me. They both point to the fact that as a Christian is called to be a Witness.
At baptism, my Catholic faith teaches me, that I am made a child of God and an heir to God’s kingdom. I am anointed KING, PRIEST AND PROPHET. As a prophet, I am called upon to witness before all people, everywhere and at all time to the goodness of God in Jesus Christ. Witnessing here means that I show forth the virtues which Jesus practiced and taught in his lifetime by the way I live my life. My life MUST reflect that of Christ as I allow Him to transform me more and more into His image (cf. 2Cor 3:18). Romans 8:29 says that God has destined me before I was born to by co-heir with Christ to His kingdom.

As a co-heir my duty is to make Christ known and loved. TO BE A CHRISTIAN IS TO BE A WITNESS TO CHRIST. It means that although I am challenged by peer pressure to conform to the standard of this world in the way I dress, speak, act, tweet and ping, I should not give in. Roman 12:2 enjoins me to be a WORLD CHANGER, A TRANSFORMER (BLOGATRON FOR REAL!) AND NOT BE A WORLD-DUMMY. If I succumb to the world, I deny Christ. To witness to Christ is to die to the world and its cunning. That is why the Greek translation for WITNESS is MARTYRDOM.

Witness2

My mantra shall be: “I am in the world but I am not of the world. He who is in me is greater than He who is in the world” (cf Jn 15:18,19; 1Jn 4:4). It does not matter if I have been a sinner all my life. It won’t weigh me down. It doesn’t matter if I have been silent and have failed to speak up about what I believe as a Christian. It is never too late to start. I won’t let my past hold me down. Rather, I would ask for God’s pardon and forgiveness in confession and be free of the devil’s slavery tactics.

1Cross3Nails

I only want to radiate the Word of God, the Word of truth. I want to share what I believe with everyone I meet. I want to be on Duty for Christ. This means I might have to change my lifestyle. It will no longer be business as usual. But I am not afraid of change. I only want Christ to be known and loved.
Yours,
BLOGATRON
@jaaymary

One thought on “#5 Witness, Witness, Witness!!!

Leave a Reply

