#3 Love Says it All

Love2
Dear Doctimus Prime,
I am not the kind to give in to anger easily but I am angry. I am not angry because of something that done to me. I am mad at so-called “Christians”. Some of them claim to know the bible and the teachings of Jesus Christ. But their lives are a stack contradiction to all they say. I recently asked a friend where he lives here in Lagos and he gave me his address. I went on to ask if there are other Church members on his street. He mentioned that there was at least one person he knows. They both belong to the same society but he is not sure where exactly he lives. I pointed out that it was not right. He should at least try to identify with this brother of his. He mentioned that he never knew he should to know where he lives. Maybe my anger is misdirected. But I know that the early Christians were known for how much they loved each other. Today, we don’t even want to know what happens outside our gates. If I am fine, the world is alright.
hold hands
It is sad because these same Christians who consider it optional to show concern or reach out to their fellows, will yell and belly ache over the insensitivity of others. I have seen Catholics leave their societies or the Church as a whole because the group he/she belongs to has failed to show them any sense of concern. It is almost a common phenomenon to find persons who are more interested in what they can receive from a person or a group. Dem wan take but dem no fit give.
Love3
Prime, the truth is that we don’t love each other. We don’t even know that we should. Jesus himself identified Love as the distinguishing feature of the Christian in John 13:34,35:

“Love one another as I have loved you. By this everyone will know that you are my disciple…”

Just so that it sinks, St Paul calls the Church the “Household of God”. And a household has members who are mostly related by blood. We should be a FAMILY. It implies that just as we look out for our family members, we should look out for our fellow Christians. What usually happens is that we pass each other on the street without even looking.One of the reasons we offer each other a sign of peace at Mass is so that I see the person next to me as my brother or sister.
Love1
We are not competing against each other. It is not enough to be seen as HOLY. BE HOLY. Holiness is not a rule to be followed. It is a life to be lived. If you sow seeds of holiness, you will reap fruits in the spirit, fruits of the Spirit. St Paul gives some of them as Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Goodness, Faithfulness, Gentleness and Self-control. Self-control is something I really need to reflect on and see if I am defaulting. There is often the tendency for me to believe that temptations are stronger than I can handle. But 1Cor 10:13 assures me that God will not let me be tempted beyond my strength. And if I am tempted, I shall receive the requisite grace sufficient to overcome. A lot of what I need to do in order to be who I was created to be is in my own hands. I have to be the BEST.
PS:
I DIDN’T FORGET WHAT I WANTED TO SAY TO YOU ABOUT MASTURBATION. I AM ONLY TRYING TO PUT MY THOUGHTS TOGETHER.I WILL LET YOU IN ON IT AS SOON AS I AM SETTLED.
Yours,
BLOGATRON.